What to Wear when it says ‘Business Professional’

sdfdsfsdf

Suits:

I’m in the Professional Selling Program at my University. They are still very old-fashioned and require the girls to wear a matching top and bottom suit. Picture a woman in a full grey suit… Boring!! We women got stuck with this matching suit concept, because that’s what the men do. But men look good in a suit, while we look frumpy and grandma. I have met many successful business females and only 10% of them actually wear a matching suit. So why not buy a yellow jacket and wear it with a black skirt/pants? Why not wear a white skirt and a navy blue blazer? With jewelry, a cute blouse/shirt and the cute heels, you all of a sudden look like a successful, confident lady. Why would anyone try to hide behind a boring grey suit?? So do not be afraid to stand out from the crowd. Be daring and buy yourself a two colored suit. Where I find my business attire: Express, H&M, J. Crew, Ann Taylor, Nordstrom, Zara

Heels:

Next, we have to talk about heels. There is nothing more of a pet peeve of mine than girls showing up in platform heels. Are you trying to get into someone’s pants?? Did you miss the entrance to the bar? And then to make it worse, the same girls usually are wearing a black mini skirt instead of a knee length business skirt… I mean come on… why even show up to that business meeting?? It’s a lethal combination in the business world. You can wear high heels, but don’t get a ones with a platform in the front. Everything has its time and place, and the business setting isn’t one of them for those shoes. I have these gorgeous 4 inch heels from Steve Madden that do not have a platform. They are still super high and give you a sexy foot, but do not scream stripper. You want to look classy, smart and confident, while still playing up your femininity. At the same time, do not buy heels your grandma would wear. We would just be going back to boring. And you’re not boring. So why advertise yourself like you are? Rule of thumb: if a stripper or your grandma would wear them, don’t wear them in the business world. Good designers: Steve Madde, Nine West, Aldo, Vince Camuto, Zara

The right accessories: 

So here is the low down on the jewelry. Don’t go overboard with jumbo earrings, a huge necklace, 20 bracelets and a ring on every finger. I like to balance it all out. If I am wearing a big necklace, I’ll wear studs and a big ring. If I’m wearing a simplistic necklace, I’ll wear big earrings. a big bracelet and a simple ring. Jewelry is all just a balancing act. When in doubt, go simple with a pearl necklace and earrings.

Now to the purse. I love carrying a statement, timeless purse such as Michael Kors Large Hamilton Saffiano Tote. Make it compliment your outfit! For instance, I like to match my bag with my shoes and belt. But that I just my personal style. Others like to through a completely different colored bag in to spice up their outfit.

In terms of matching colors, my philosophy is to at least match your belt and shoes. If I’m wearing green shoes, I’ll wear a green belt and a green necklace or earrings along with it (of course all the same shade of green), but will keep my bag a neutral color such as white. But if I’m wearing a skirt and blazer, I’ll try to wear a green shirt to match my shoes and neutral earrings. It simply all depends on the outfit, but try to keep things color coordinated so you don’t look like a rainbow when walking into a meeting or interview.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

